Pac Man and the Alphabet

pacman

acrylic, glassine paper and acrylic skin collage on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

Pac Man eats his way through the alphabet, capturing language in his craw

and for no other reason than his voracious appetite for all things spelled.

What on earth?  you say.  Well, a kid likes to play and even a grown up likes to sometimes.  In the spirit of collage paper making I placed an alphabet stencil down on white paper, squirted red, black and blue paint on top, rolled over it.  The I placed the paint-wetted side of the stencil down on some glassine paper and rolled over that, making an opposite image, which, when dry became my collage paper for the piece.  It needed an accent so I pulled out a pink acrylic skin from my stash, while reassuring myself that I don’t always have to make serious meaningful art. . .

Well, except that, there might be some meaning to it.  I am a bit of a pac (wo)man about things spelled.  There’s my daily crossword and nightly novel, and my affinity for the Thesaurus.

One comment

Leave a Reply

