Procession of the Species in the workshop

Lamy Joy fountain pen and watercolor in 9 X 12″ Canson mixed media sketchbook

If you’re an Olympia resident, chances are your favorite event of the year is the Procession of the Species on Earth Day in April. This year will be my first! and also the return of the event from a break since the beginning of the pandemic in 2020. The Procession is described as “a joyous, artistic celebration, intended to inspire learning, appreciation, and protection of the natural world”. And it begins way before the actual day, April 26 and 27 this year.

Some friends and I stopped by the Armory arts building where they’ve set up preparations for the procession. Anyone and everyone is urged to participate! Surrounded by papier mache species of all sorts the prep was joyfully underway. I was a fly on the wall, sketching the activity and listening to conversations about plans and just trying to wrap my mind around what this is all about!

It was hard to not pick up a paint brush or glue gun and pitch in, but I’ll come back for that. Meanwhile I just turned around in my chair to catch whatever was going on, and later tried to glue it together with paint and more line!

Watch a video of the Procession here

And here’s some of what’s going on in the Armory building workshop now!

I couldn’t resist borrowing someone’s lovely hat to get in the picture!

One comment

Leave a comment