Caprice

Following my usual process I placed the sketchbook paper in front of me along with some Sumi ink and let my mind go slack, while watching it, like a bee land on some flower of thought. It zigged and zagged, flitted and started off in another direction. That was the stimulus to start. I dipped my brush in ink and let my hand follow that irregular course until it began (unconsciously) to describe a figure that appeared goat-like (namely the horns). Goat, the creature known for caprice, inconsistency, contrariety. I was staring uncomfortably at those traits which I both love and find limiting about myself. My Thesaurus revealed a long list of synonyms for this most worthy word, Caprice. Once again through leaving myself open with the art, the hidden has been revealed!

caprice.jpg

Sumi ink, watercolor, Sharpee pen on Llama Li sketchbook paper

One comment

Leave a comment