Maisy Moon Farm at the Farmers Market

Lamy Joy fountain pen and white gel pen and watercolor in beige-toned Nova sketchbook

Thursdays at the market are low key, without crowds to stand in the way of sketchers’ views of the colorful produce. This cart of baby Walla Walla onions and purple and green asparagus seemed too beautiful to eat, but perfect to sketch. The owner saw me ogling the purple asparagus, wondering what colors to mix and offered, “they taste even sweeter!”

There was a half hour til the Thursday morning sketchers did our throw-down to share what we’d done. The music on the performance stage drew me over with some of the best blues guitar I’ve heard.

Ross Robinson, down for the day from Seattle was there making that guitar cry and I could hardly hold still listening to his music. Oooowee! I figure he must be from somewhere way down south.

Leave a comment