Make Your Own Story Here

I was inspired by the Sebastopol Center for the Arts”Marvelous” collage and assemblage exhibition as well as the artists showing in Gallery III, John Hundt and Sherrie Parker. So last week we did a lesson in my Muse group combining various images to create anthropomorphic and surrealistic “figures”.  I tried to keep mine simple – images on white paper background with little if any paint added. The result was images that tell their own story, so I’ll show two here without my own story so that you can find your own.

goat

Here I am trying to be refined, like some collage artists, and finding that it is preferable to use Yes paste for this sort of collage rather than acrylic gel medium because it is tackier . Consequently I found that even the heavy body gel made the paper curl up and I had difficulty with placement. Lesson learned!

theworld

Images like this are so political these days. . .

butterflies

I needed this one to clear the palette, so to speak. Here are the words that came:

Innocence. Ah, it’s all coming back now! – the spinning whirl of each day – the knowledge that nature belongs to us in the same way our hands and feet do – the doorways that open to exotic new countries – the stairs we rush to take because the world is a continual treasure hunt – the butterflies we follow into their worlds of fragrant blooms and dizzyingly nectars.

I’m starting a new Monday Afternoon Muse series March 6 in my Sebastopol, California studio.  Visit my website for more info and to contact me if you are interested!

Leave a Reply

