Sketch The Medical Scene

I’ve learned to sit in the corner of the waiting room in medical offices, car repair shops, airports or any other place where waiting ensues. I cross one leg over the other make a slanted table and get out my smallish everyday sketchbook. Right now this is the soft cover  6X8″ Beta Series Stillman + Birn sketchbook.

kaisersurgery

The “safest” place to sit and sketch is behind people, but it’s not the most interesting visually, so the conversation becomes more important. The fellow on the left, Max, was a big, loud, friendly volunteer greeter for these surgery patients, and the grease that got more than the usual amount of conversation going in the small waiting room.

“When I get up in the morning and open the newspaper, I look at the obituaries and, if my name isn’t there, I know it’s a good day!” says Max (probably whenever this is needed to give the surgery patients a good chuckle)

The other interesting subject was the fellow in the back with the bright red shirt and matching sneakers, so I abandoned the design principle of putting bright warm colors in the foreground and cooler/lighter in the background. (Red is actually my favorite color)

When all the patients were taken into another room I had the room to myself to get a bit of paint on with water brush and the pocket palette I carry in my purse.

You may have guessed, I am not the patient here, but the companion.

Leave a Reply

