Sketchbook in the purse

The sketchbook that travels in the purse tends to get used when you might not expect, like when you’re out with other people and there’s a discreet moment or two and something catches your eye. . .

flyinggoat

Lamy Safari fountain pen with water soluble ink and watercolor in 5 X 7″ w/c sketchbook

It was the ruby red lipstick, ivory skin and blue earbuds that made her a must-sketch. I tuned out my family’s conversation over coffee for a few moments to capture it. I knew that my subject, just a couple feet away, was too absorbed to notice.

busstop

Waiting to put Andrew (Droob) and Maura on the bus for the airport I realized I hadn’t sketched him enough over the holiday. “Hold still for a moment” I said. Easy to ask of someone with a cell phone in his hand.

Leave a Reply

