Thanksgiving

My plan was to sketch whatever aspects of a busy Thanksgiving day and aftermath I could manage in between hosting, cooking, serving. It started with my friend’s arrival and a sketch-chat with her. No food was on the table yet, but there was a pumpkin at least.

fountain pen and watercolor in 7 X 10″ Beta series Stillman + Birn sketchbook

We picked up Andrew and his girlfriend Maura and discovered that both of them were stealing every possible moment to work on portfolios for grad school applications.

No sketching was possible at dinner. I guess I’m not as dedicated an Urban sketcher as some I know. Being a slow eater and not willing to let my food get cold, I found that by the time I was finished, everyone else was ready for desert, which meant I must whip the cream for the caramel hazelnut pumpkin tart, oh yeah!

After the dishes were done we were not a lively crew as the tryptophan kicked in. Andrew fell asleep on the couch with his nose in his computer.

thanks2

This one I did later from a picture I took with my Iphone. I’m experimenting with how much I can leave out and still tell the story. The white of the paper is always so lively and skipping the color in clothes certainly saves time.

thanks

Next day my two young architects were still at it in our dining room with their backs to the window and view. Such discipline! and they’re so used to me lurking across the room with my pen and paints that they pay no notice.

Only problem is that the sketches here don’t tell the whole story of all the fun and food we had during their visit, and enjoying my two good friends who joined us and Bob who made much of the magnificent food. Once again this year Thanksgiving lived up to its reputation as the favorite holiday of the year.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

