Portrait Madness

clowns

Pentel brush pen and gouache in tan toned Strathmore sketchbook

I’ve been playing with this new Sktchy app, which is a great resource for us insatiable sketchers who are always on the look-out for interesting faces. I have it on my iPhone, so I can put my feet up in the evening and sketch on my lap (which is why my lines are so crooked!) People post photos to inspire and then the sketches they do of the photo sources.

hirohito

Like this guy Jordan on the right, who I had to sketch because of those fabulous eyebrows.  I’m trying to get comfortable with the juicy brush pen, which is sooo expressive, but really tricky to manage the different angels to get fine and thick lines.

I’ve also been getting inspiration from old magazines.  This issue of Look in 1958 featured world leaders, like Hirohito.

pope

I’m so used to painting shadow shapes with watercolor washes, so this requires relying more on line and has a comic strip quality.

valentinojpg

The tan paper is best left as skin tone.  I got a bit carried away trying to get that dark handsome thing going with Valentino’s portrait

chorus

White and blue gouache and black brush pen, and it’s enough, mostly because of the tan paper.

supporter

The Press Democrat had this great photo taken at a Trump rally where there were confrontations among demonstrators.  Definitely a case of a picture being worth 1,000 words!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

