Nursing Home Sketches

fcactivities5

fountain pens, watercolor in 7 X 12″(full spread) handmade sketchbook, Fluid w/c paper

I’ve made some new friends at the nursing home where my mother-in-law lived. My weekly visits coincide with this fellow Chris coming to play and sing folk songs to the residents, who largely sit quietly listening, enjoying and zoning out. Almost all the patients are in wheelchairs. The staff has given me permission to sketch and I’ve become part of the “furniture” in the activities room.

fcactivities2 Funny thing, I always feel better when I leave. It’s a heart opening. My own personal world grows larger from sketching these folks. fcactivities4

Some patients brighten their day, which is pretty much always like the day before, with colorful clothing.

fcactivities10

and accessories.

FCactivitiesFamily visit are cherished.  And music in all forms lifts the spirits and soothes.

fcactivities3

There’s ball “games” for the residents!

fcactivities6_edited-1

I like to use my fountain pen with the Noodlers Golden Brown ink to start the sketch. The softer line works best for old people whose edges are softened by the years and by inactivity. The Golden Brown ink melts a bit when color is added, and later I go back for some line emphasis with black.

fcactivities7

I’m learning my way around wheel chairs.  They’re as complicated as bicycles!

fcactivities8

Someone’s grandpa.  I never knew either of mine, and I lost my father 27 years ago.

fcactivities9

Such a wonderful face – I couldn’t resist. A friendly man, happy to be sketched.

One comment

Leave a Reply

