Beyond Cafe Sketching

cafe

For years I’ve been in a group of mothers, sometimes referred to as “Coffee Girls” Every Friday we meet at a cafe, where we sip coffee while getting a perspective on our lives. Sometimes I also can sneak in a sketch.

petalumapete

Petaluma Pete plays his piano on a street corner in that town.(Don’t ask me how it gets the piano there!) I happened to be hanging out, waiting for my son to check out the guitars and sheet music in Tall Toad music shop. Leaning against the corner I got to listen to some of Pete’s extensive repertoire and watch him greet people, while I sketched.

jazzsinger

An evening performance of a jazz group at a local art gallery. . .

snoopysicearena

and on a very stormy day, sitting in the cafeteria of Snoopy’s Ice Arena, sketching the mostly inexperienced skaters, lots of little kids and their parents.

warmpuppy

Turning 90 degrees to the left was this view, which I needed in order to rest the eyes after following the constant motion of the skaters!

Then the children started checking us out.  I find that art supplies are like magnets to them. Most children under a certain age still recognize themselves as artists. So little Peter would not leave until I handed him a brush loaded with paint.

Leave a Reply

