Shake off the old year

shake

acrylic inks on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

Tip sideways and spill it out.

The ground seems solid enough, and yet.

The pieces want to go in different directions. 

There’s a terrible urge to shake, like a wet dog just emerging from the river. Shake! Shake! Shake! Shake!

Then look again to see what’s left.  A bit of strangeness has just snuck in.

That about sums it up. The new year. I love it and I hate it. So much promise coming at the expense of comfortable sameness. I dipped myself into my favorite Higgins waterproof India Ink today to try to get a glimpse of what’s happening. Squirt it into a puddle of water. Tip it back and forth. The black pieces break out of solution in unexpected ways.

You can’t hold on too tight when you’re working with water. Best to be ready for the unexpected.  Like this new year that I’m trying to plan out. Got to at least try, but oh my, how the earth doth shake. The shaking is mostly happening on the inside of me, as it always does this time of year.

Meanwhile my digital prince of a husband Bob has been shaking things up in his photography world for, going “handmade”. Give Bob’s blog  a visit to learn more about that! (Hand made doesn’t mean the computer isn’t still in the picture!)

Leave a Reply

