Christmas Genie

genie

sprayed ink, cheesecloth and paper collage

It’s smoky in here, and the genie is wiggling out of his bottle.

“Three wishes,” he offers, and my mind jams.

I need more time! I need to look at the catalogues and the Cyber Monday sales, to get more for less, discover what the latest new toy will do for me!

Ah, but the smoke is rolling in thicker now, and the genie is getting impatient. 

“Christmas is coming soon and you want to be prepared,” he whispers as I see the last of his Arabian slippers rise up and out of view.

And I am left with only one wish, and it’s not in any of the catalogues or ads.

. . .PEACE ON EARTH. . .

Leave a Reply

