On Being a Nobody

ifIweresomebody

acrylic inks and collage on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

I am a jar of preserves, of memories of who I was to be –  a ballerina, a sleek and swift athlete, a musician.  The talented, the driven, the serious – the famous, the admired –  memories stuck in a vinegary solution.

I am always climbing up some ladder, looking for some higher ground with a better perspective. I used to spend a lot of time thinking my way into other people’s shoes and trying them on for size.  “What am I supposed to BE?”, I would ask, feeling like an uninteresting bit of nobodyness.

It passed the time, this kind of daydreaming.  But when I was particularly worn out, perhaps by the weight of my incessant wondering, I would be quite relieved to find that my world had let me be a Nobody.

Most of the time now, I find I’ve made my nobodyness into somebody I like.

We did two weeks of the Fun Self Portraits lesson this month in Muse Group.  The three heads are mine, printed out from a few minutes of play with my Photo Booth application on my computer using the Comic strip filter. The students’ results were mind boggling!  I’ll get them up one of these days, but for now, here’s an older slide show again:

Leave a Reply

