Deepen the Mystery

mystery

acrylic “patina” paints, collage on paper collage textured surface on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

“The job of the artist is to always deepen the mystery.” -Francis Bacon

This piece needs a Rosetta Stone to decode, or at least someone familiar with Japanese seals and signatures.  I always gravitate toward the mysterious, the unexplained, the textures and shapes that lead the eye through the piece without giving too much information.

But really the intent here was simply to try new ways to add text to paintings by putting stencils and stamps aside and drawing the letters on.  I have a deep admiration bordering on envy of people with beautiful handwriting.  I blame my own lack of calligraphic ability on my left handedness.  Lord knows, my mother who was a third grade teacher, tried for years to improve my handwriting. Actually she was still complaining about my handwriting into my middle age.  (But this is revealing a bit too much about the decades of my life.  I don’t know when was the last time I saw the handwriting of my young adult sons!)

6 comments

  1. Dear Susan, I am a left handed [retired] teacher. I showed my left handed 2nd, 3rd, and 4th graders ways to write more comfortably which is the key to producing easily read hand writing. Key points are to always rest your whole arm including the elbow on the writing surface. Then instead of sliding your arm down the page slide the paper up so your arm is always in a comfortable position. Easiest way to practice is making a shopping list at kitchen counter. 🙂 Joanie

    Like

  2. I think your “difference” (left hand writing) also brings advantage to you, makes special interest of your paintings.
    We call it “special”. I like your collage, “simple” but .sThere is not so simple to create harmony and balance, intreresting texture, effect of old wall…
    Elena

    Like

Leave a Reply

