A Home Sketch

homesketch

Pen and watercolor in Strathmore w/c sketchbook, 7 X 9″

Here is the latest battle I fought with architectural rendering.  I’m determined to crack the code.  Did I say that I’m going to Assissi, Italy this September for an art residency?  I am determined to be ready to capture medieval churches and other antiquities.  So here’s my latest practice effort.  I did my measuring, so the perspective is at least close.  My blue art studio is there at the end of the walk.  The calla lillies are blooming. We had two minutes of rain while I sat there – the full extent of our latest rain season here in sunny but parched northern California.  The clouds came and went so many times that I finally gave up trying to paint the confusing light and shadow forms.  I think I tried too hard with the paint.  A simple wash will work better. . .next time.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

