Gilt bearer

flamelighter

acrylic inks, gesso, collage, tracing paper transparency on 10 X 11″ w/c paper

gilt bearer of Florence

wears the burden of his craft heavily

proceeds despite the dangers of over-working

more paint!  more line!  more gold!  more layers!

maybe the brush will know where to go next round

maybe the glow will assert itself finally

and all will be redeemed

This is a good example of starting out with one intention and ending up somewhere else. We were playing with the idea of using transparent overlays over the painted surface in Muse Group. Using tracing paper we “borrowed” a line drawing from a source using permanent pen, then glued it with gel medium over a painting so that the painting would show through (as in an image transfer)  I used Michaelangelo’s sculpture of the “reclining adolescent” as my source, traced it, and collaged it onto a painted surface.

And then the little art-store-junky voice in my head kept giving me ideas of where to go from there.  Since I have a frightfully large collection of materials, there was no end to the suggestions.  And truly this is why I’m a mixed media artist.

And so . . . I needed more red and then gold and then well maybe some Interference Blue, but no, then I needed the dip pen and black ink and back to more gold, but then it was getting too dark and I called on the gesso and then. . .until eventually, with exhausted satisfaction, my gilt bearer was birthed.

Leave a Reply

