The Family Pyramid

familypyramid

acrylic, image transfers, collage on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

The Family Pyramid

Solve the riddle and the sphinx will offer access to the tombs and the secrets therein.

Skeletons are to be cherished, regardless. All families have them. We are none of us above the business of heritage, our automatic download of burdens, talents, angels and demons acquired at birth.  We imagine we are free to start afresh while inadvertently walking in the well worn shoes of ancestors.

This was an exercise in recycling old paintings, as in cutting them up and piecing together.  The figure on the left is actually my maternal grandfather, and on the right, his mother or aunt.  I’m not sure.  I wonder if she was half as formidable as she appears here. They were pretty tough stock, Ohio farmers and educators. I hope they knew how to kick up their heals and have fun!

6 comments

  1. I am ever the teacher and a neon light shines on a misspelled word unless you intended a pun!  Kick up their “heals”…..we are a great team:  you write beautifully and I’m a good editor! I’ll miss being at the lunch but this gives us an excuse to do it again…..Have Fun   Judy and Rick

    Like

    1. I don’t think I can claim a pun, just poor spelling. My real mother, also a teacher, would turn in her grave. I never learned good penmanship or spelling, two skills one must develop in third grade, which she taught. I think you were a 2nd grade teacher Judy? Anyway, good to have you around to straighten me out!

      Like

  2. Superb website you have here but I was wondering if
    you knew of any discussion boards that cover the same topics discussed in this
    article? I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get opinions from
    other experienced people that share the same interest.
    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Kudos!

    Like

  3. May I simply just say what a relief to uncover somebody who actually knows what they are talking about
    online. You definitely know how to bring an issue to light and make it important.
    A lot more people have to read this and understand
    this side of the story. I can’t believe you are not more popular because you surely possess the gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

