Festival of Feathers

feathers2

Tombow pen and watercolor

This weekend I stopped in at the Festival of Feathers at the bird rescue center in Santa Rosa to soak up some of that marvelous bird wildness.  I just had a few minutes, but many of the birds were out on the arm of their volunteer handlers and I had my camera with me.  Later I did some quick sketches from my computer and put some color on.

The Barn Owl glows golden in the sunshine and has the most unusual, disc-like face – difficult to draw because it seems so unlikely, even while being so exotically lovely.

feathers3

This Great Horned Owl is named Wowl!  How perfect is that?  And yes, he’s rather big, but still only a couple pounds of weight because of those hollow bird bones and super light feathers.

feathers1

This little guy is a Pygmy Owl, tiny but oh so wise looking!  I think I drew him bigger than he was because of his gravitas.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

