Earth Week Map

Earth Week is good time for some personal geographizing.  I recently bought the book Personal Geographies:Explorations in Mixed Media Mapmaking by Jill K. Berry and was trying out a couple of her ideas in the context of the Monday Muse Group.

mapoflivesacrylic inks and map collage on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

Like many of us at a certain age, the map of my life is a bit messy, like this one.  I have lived all over and back again, yet remained stable, at least in my home in Sebastopol, for the past 14 years. I’m a Californian through and through at this point.  But I spent almost 2 decades on the east coast, some time in the center, and lived in four different countries.  I hope this qualifies me as a citizen of the world and not just the USA.

What does your personal geography look like?

 

4 comments

  1. I love this book. People are weird about geography and maps because it was taught so poorly in school. Presented this way with art and personality it’s a whole different thing. I’d love to do this class with you!

    Like

  2. Right here is the right blog for anybody who really
    wants to find out about this topic. You know a
    whole lot its almost hard to argue with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic which has
    been discussed for years. Wonderful stuff, just wonderful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

