Apple (blossom) Time

appletime

acrylic inks, gesso, maps, Masa paper, etc collage, pen’n’ink on w/c paper

On Saturday I started a new mixed media workshop series in my studio.  The theme – Inks and Gesso!  Playing with them on paper – squirting, smooshing, scraping, rollering, finger painting, combing, splattering, etc.

I had this painting “start” which was reds and greens and reminded me of a brightly colored plate of food. Maybe I was hungry. I have a foodie magazine and started cutting out pictures of food.  But the only one that seemed right was the apple.  In Sebastopol, CA where I live, the biggest celebration of the year is the Apple Blossom Festival and parade down Main St.  Here is Sonoma County we celebrate grapes and wine year round, but when the apple blossoms burst out, the old fashioned apple trumps everything else for a while.

Leave a Reply

