Sketchbook Skool

I got back from Portland earlier this week and heard that my painting buddy had started Danny Gregory’s new 6 week online sketch workshop, Sketchbook Skool, and immediately signed up, not wanting to miss out on the fun.  I used to teach a lot of sketchbook workshops and one can always learn something new!  Actually as I recall, it was Danny Gregory who first incited me to sketch things like worn old tennis shoes and the contents of my breakfast plate.

The Sketch Skool started a week ago, but you could still catch up, if you haven’t already enrolled. I didn’t have time for sketchbook shopping, so I found a still pristine 9 X 12″ Mix Media Canson sketchbook on my shelf and inaugurated it.  Over the years I’ve collected an insane number of pens, brushes, paints, etc. So I decided to tackle this rather large sketchbook with a variety of things, as if sketching for the first time!

410sketch1

Being a very practical sort I started by using some of the leftover paint from my stay wet palette which had been moldering away while I was on vacation.  The first week’s homework is to sketch your daily life, with words about your thoughts/feelings.  I learned that the paper was too thin for using a dip pen, since it leaks through – good to know. And the black Pentel brush leaked all over my hand as I held it.

410sketch2

A few minutes sketching in the garden in the afternoon and after dinner, forgetting for a while whatever I was “supposed” to be doing instead.  Once I started copying Rumi poetry I could have kept going for pages!  And then I followed Bob into the family room.

410sketch3

 Started with a Uni Ball Vision pen and switched to a Sharpie for a more defined line.

He would be appalled to hear me say this, but yes, sketching beats out watching a basketball game most of the time.  However I may have to put down my pen for a few minutes during a Downton Abbey.

2 comments

  1. I’m having a great time at Sketchbook Skool too! Great to see your sketches, always an inspiration to me how you design the page and how you portray people and animals (esp chickens!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

