Coffee Bean Antiquity

homestead

acrylic inks, contact paper image transfer and collage on coffee soaked w/c paper, 10 X 11″

My shadow and I traverse this ancestral trail together – she always a few steps behind and silent.  Does she wonder as I do about their lives on the homestead in the verdant Ohio valley?  Were they peaceable, industrious, well read farmers and teachers as my mother said?  And did the bible rule their lives along with the seasons?

In Muse Group this week we took a journey into antiquity with a start of coffee soaked paper.  I pulled out some old family pictures- one an aerial view of the Finly farmstead back in the 1800’s.  Then I raided my Illustrated Travels book from the same century and foreign stamp collection for collage elements.  The girl is actually a Persian beauty whose hand made clothes I loved.

We get to take a trip around the world when we do our art and mix it all together in a dreamy, rich stew.

One comment

Leave a Reply

