The Tracks We Leave

tracksweleave

acrylic applied with roller, stencils, collage, acrylic skins on w/c paper

Life is not a private affair. We leave prints with each step, each word. And when we get run over, the groove where we’ve lain has our signature on it. The tracks of our existence cannot be concealed.

It started, as these art journal pieces usually do, with my sharing some mixed media tidbit with the Muse Group.  This time it was my new sponge roller set- four different mini rollers with different design cutouts which I ordered online for $10. And so with a couple rolls of the paint I established the tracks.  To save the paint residue left on the roller I ran it over some glassine paper I had and later glued a circle of that on the piece toward the top.  It’s always good to suggest a sun or moon somewhere in a piece. And the next day the dried residue of acrylic paint – blue and bronze – got pealed up from the palette and added in a spot where it was needed.

Still with nothing in mind I wrote – 5 minutes worth of free association, which we do together in Muse Group.  The tracks, like the path from house to studio which I traverse several times each day, are quite established.  I can go way back to childhood to find their roots, back even perhaps to my maternal grandmother who wrote poetry.  Ironic perhaps that in the face of such overwhelming evidence that at this age the tracks are well laid, I would strive so insistently to create art that falls outside those tracks.  And yet. . . this groove I find myself in has my signature all over it.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

