Try a Good Book

islandlonging

image transfer with Chartpak blender pen, acrylic, inks on w/c paper

. . .longing for a gentle, balmy, moisture laden breeze carrying adventures requiring no exertion or danger. . .

Advise to self. . .”Try a good book.”

With a desire to explore image transfers a bit more I unearthed  my Chartpak Blender pen and then combed through my computer files for an image.  Pictures from a family vacation in the Yucatan in 2007  (sketches on my blog) ignited such a longing  of the type one has in the dead of winter. (Though I have no grounds for complaint here in California)

So I printed out this picture of the grass hut we stayed in and did an instant  B + W transfer using the Chartpak pen. It’s easy.  You put the copy ink side down on the receiving paper, rub the Blender pen over it, and you get an instant, if not perfect transfer.  You also stink up your room/studio with the acetone smell, which is why I don’t do this in my classes.

Longing for an island, for a balmy beach, even as I just want to curl up with a good book about a beach or about high adventure, while I sip my tea in comfort.  It’s quite satisfying enough, I find.  Lately so many good books have been finding their way into my home.  Here’s my latest favorites:  The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert, The Hungry Tide by Amitav Ghosh, Ordinary Grace by William Kent Krueger, The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Frye by Rachel Joyce, and Whistling Past the Graveyard by Susan Crandall.

Leave a Reply

