Coffee sketch

peet's2

Uniball pen, watercolor, Washi tape in sketchbook 4 X 6″

Bob and I had a bit of a getaway to the East Bay after Christmas.  Thirteen years ago we moved from Albany, CA (next to Berkeley) out to the country. . .but we like to go back occasionally to balance ourselves with the city vibe.  So he followed me into Scrapbook Territory on 4th St. where I showed great restraint and only bought myself two new toys – the Washi tape you see here above and. . .

peet's

a lilac Distress Ink pad, which I wasn’t sure what to do with, so I just started stamping it in my book!

Then he left me to sit in the 70 degree sun at (possibly) ground zero in Berkeley, Peet’s Coffee, with my caramel latte.  While he went off to “shoot” at the train tracks, I got out my sketchbook (much neglected of late) to sketch the most colorful array of characters I’ve seen in one place.  And that’s saying a lot, since I live in Sebastopol, after all!

So I just want to point out, that the only way I can do these people sketches in a constantly moving crowd is to simply stack them up in whatever way I can.  So the pink sneakers you see in the second sketch actually belonged on the older gentleman with the coffee in the first sketch.  I swear to God.  I’m not making this up.  It’s Berkeley after all!

Leave a Reply

