Punchanella

pathsofimagination

inks, gesso, collage, “punchanella” on w/c paper, 10 X 11″, Sat. Muse Group demo

Paths always find their way to somewhere and back again. 

Straight paths have no appeal to the imagination. But the crooked, the oblique, the curlicue, and the uneven tantalize.  

Golden temples may cool and rest the weary seeker [artist}. . .for a while. . .but a honeycomb of unexplored images always beckons, and a storm cloud threatens if one overstays.

I have resigned myself to being a non-linear thinker.  It’s not always a comfortable condition for me and is an occasional irritation to my family.  I seem to have to circle around things, going into them at oblique angles, looking at them upside down, giving them dream time to get sorted out. The art that comes of this is illusive and hard to explain. But I keep trying and there’s a lot of satisfaction in that.

Technique:  I can’t use the word punchanella without picturing a dancing puppet with blond pigtails.  I didn’t even know what it was until a few months ago when one of the Muse students, Theresa used it in class.  You’ll have no trouble guessing where it is in the piece above.  It comes in rolls of colored plastic about four inches wide and you can use it as a stencil or glue it on for collage.  I’ve used it both ways here.  It’s what’s left in the process of making sequins, or “sequin waste”, which is why you can order a bunch of it online for very little money. I’d give you the link, but I forgot where I got it!

4 comments

  1. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and
    let you know a few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

    Like

Leave a Reply

