In Memory of Ellen

ellen'sday1Ellen Finly Loffswold, March 31, 1919 to December 27, 2012

Since so many of you blog readers have become friends I wanted to share more about this important event in my life of my mother’s passing. Last Saturday we celebrated her life in a tree planting with her ashes in the garden outside my art studio.

It was a spring day of such utter perfection with sun shining, apple trees blossoming, and birds singing.  We started with the entrance of my friend David, a piper playing Highland Cathedral in full regalia. Before I was able to open my mouth to welcome the friends and family who were assembled on our hillside, a hawk circled dramatically over our heads as we all drew in breath in recognition of the blessing. I knew my mother’s spirit would never have wanted to miss a celebration, and certainly not of her own life.

ellen'sday2

After the sharing of memories and readings, my husband and boys planted the cherry tree (in full bloom!) and I added Ellen’s ashes to the planting.

ellen'sday3

Ben (son on the left) read one of my favorite Rumi poems:

Don’t grieve.  Anything you lose comes around
in another form.  The child weaned from mother’s milk
now drinks wine and honey mixed.

God’s joy moves from unmarked box to unmarked box,
from cell to cell.  As rainwater, down into flower bed.
As roses, up from ground.
Now it looks like a plate of rice and fish,
now a cliff covered with vines,
now a horse being saddled.

It hides within these,
till one day it cracks them open
God’s joy moves from unmarked box to unmarked box.
Anything you lose comes round in another form.

–Rumi

And now there are such an abundance of ways that what we have lost in the form of the living Ellen, has come round in other forms – the gentle spring rains and blossoming plants, the company of loving friends and family, the shared meals. . .

And lest all this seem too idyllic, as it certainly was that day, other forms of have presented themselves in this life as well, from tax prep to my computer dying and both cars needing repair simultaneously and more!  Don’t you just love how “God’s joy moves from unmarked box to unmarked box” in such unexpected ways?!

Then on Sunday I met with 20 eager artists to demo crinkled Masa paper techniques at Rileystreet Art Supply, and Monday started a new round of Muse sessions, all of which I’ll be sharing more about here on the blog.

Stay tuned also for the launch of my new multi-media eBook, In Conversation with the Muses.  Yes, FINALLY!  We had to wait til we got my computer running again.  I’ll launch it here on the blog. . . after just a couple small tweeks are finished.

10 comments

Leave a Reply

