Happy Valentines

handcaressinginks, gesso, collage, pen drawing, feathers and lace texture transfer on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

Love is leaning against your leg all folded up like a new born calf, soft and subtle and strong as your hands say SAFE.

This one for my valentine and for the men and women lovers in the world.  As I posted this image I realized its connection to the One Billion Rising action today, asserting that our world must stop the violence commited against the one billion women of the planet (one in every 3).  I pray for all women to be able to experience the loving care of men like my husband.  And tonight I will dance with women all around the world in a V-day rising up and demanding an end to this violence against women.

On the art side of this. . .another experiment in relationship collage done in the Muse Groups.  I started out with a quick sketch copy in my hand of a Picasso line drawing.  Ending with the downy inner feathers of a chicken of mine that was taken off by two marauding dogs this week.

Another sad chicken story.  The dogs got two more of my chickens and injured yet two more who are now safe and recovering.  Violence in the animal world as well.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

