Grandmother Mountain

Acrylic finger painting on w/c paper, 10 X 11"

Acrylic finger painting on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

grandmother mountains 

shoulder to shoulder

swaying hips forward, back

side to side

stirring up stars

bringing them down on us

tip to one side and someone

falls off

loses a life

dangerous business this cliff walking life

can’t wait til the sun goes down

til the moon rises

to begin again

step lightly as the rock plates shift

be ready to hop the chasm

It’s been a time of emptying out my mother’s apartment, of calling and writing, sharing memories and tears.  To find a way back to my paint I knew that brushes wouldn’t work yet.  So I felt a path in with fingers and some lavish fluid acrylics and gesso.

What came of it was the boundary region where the sometimes solid, sometimes translucent curtain hangs, the one that parted briefly for me last month, giving me just a peak, as I watched my mother pass through.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

