Origins of Flight

“Origins of Flight”, acrylic, collage on canvas, 24″X24″

It started out with wanting to build a nest. Why should only the birds be allowed to do this?  I collected materials, even tried weaving my own with dried grasses and other plant materials.  They fell apart.  I didn’t have the DNA for it.

But painting is what I do. So I took my two dimensional surface and started with powdered graphite, collage and image transfer and then the color starting working its way in, and now many days later, the fledgelings are ready to fly.

Next week I’ll be hanging this painting and a multitude of other for the ARTrails open studio art sale.  Hope you can come by for a visit, Oct. 13, 14, 20, and 21, 10am-5pm.  You’ll find me on the map, Studio #68 (download here).

Leave a Reply

