Vancouver, Victoria and home again

Victoria, British Columbia

Back now from my trip to Vancouver and Victoria to visit with my son Ben.  We had a great time.  The cities were all about tulips and cherry blossoms, gazillions of them blooming on every street!!  Not what I would call a relaxing vacation, what with cleaning and moving him out of the apartment, ferry rides and border crossings and days in the cities, but days rich with sights and new experiences, meeting his college friends and hanging out in the finest coffee shops in the world (according to my coffee expert, Ben) as well as pubs.  Some hiking in those lush northern forests and eating great seafood.  I visited the Art Gallery of Victoria to see Emily Carr:  On the Edge of Nowhere, a British Columbian painter whose biography The Forest Lover I’d enjoyed years ago.

And had scant time for sketching. . .but here’s some airport and ferry sketches.

. . .at our little airport in Sonoma County waiting for the flight to Seattle (I drove from there to Vancouver).

iPads Rule in airports.  I knew if I brought one I would never get around to sketching, so instead took advantage of the models.

Sabrina had dark glasses on and was texting on her iPhone the entire ferry ride, so I figured I was safe sketching her anonymously. I made her look at least 20 years older, not on purpose!  And she caught me.  It happens sometimes.  So as a concession to her I let her take a picture of it, which I assume immediately got posted on Facebook or something like that, and promised to post it here. She’s really soooo much cuter.  It seems when I’m doing a really quick sketch I either make people look much older or younger.  I guess there’s a kind of averaging thing going on unconsciously, when what I’d really like to be doing is more caricature.  Got to work on that.

Leave a Reply

