Dress of the Day

acrylic, hand made stamps, ink, and collage on w/c paper

the girls hop on the line
show off-y like spring
like those orange polka dotted caterpillars  
munching the pipevine
eating big holes in the leaves
til there’s nothing left
but their big juicy selves

back to the girls on the line
hanging out for the fresh air
dancing on the breeze
headless, carefree
their only personality
the dress of the day

Ah yes, carefree.  How to be carefree at my age, or any age for that matter.  I certainly wouldn’t sign up to trade with a teenager. . .6 year old maybe, but then I’d have to do the whole growing up thing all over again. . .no thanks.  Better to cultivate a carefree state of mind.

I’m headed to Vancouver, B.C. tomorrow to visit my son Ben, who is graduating from college.  Now 21 is a pretty great age.  I think I’ll try it on for size, at least for a week of fun in the city and then out to the islands.  He says if the rain stops for a bit we’ll go kayaking, and you can eat that wonderful fresh fish even if it’s raining, so we’re cool.

3 comments

  1. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My website is
    in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would truly benefit from
    a lot of the information you provide here. Please let me know if
    this okay with you. Many thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

