Self portraits in Tuesday Muse Group

acrylic, collage on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

if i sit and watch
eyes drawn to the shapes of earth
greening, starting over
pondering the tiniest bud
if i just sit and wait
will i catch that smallest unfurling
get to keep it
as an ornament for my indoor life
where mind keeps tracking muddy footprints
on the floor of my inner house

All I want to write about these days of spring intoxication is what’s happening in the garden.  This is the season when I most envy the birds, oh and the bees and the butterflies and definitely the cats. . .

But after I’d written this piece, identifying with the persona of this portrait, I realized that I’d missed an important point.  I left the hair white.  Aha!  Funny thing, I’d just had this conversation with my husband about when I thought I’d be ready for the conversion from my youthful reddish brown hair color (courtesy now of L’Oreal) to the silvery color which lurks below. He’s already a distinquished silver haired gentleman.  But I think I’ll wait a few more years. . .

The process we followed in class was this:

1.  Pose in front of the Photo Booth camera on your Mac computer and use the comic strip filter.  Ham it up a bit if possible (this pose is not particularly ham-y though).  Size it to fit your paper and print it out.  Alternately use a picture from another source, copied onto plain paper.

2.  Glue it onto your painting surface or trace and transfer if you have time.  Collage and paint using the print as a kind of loose guideline.

Not everyone finished, but here’s a couple students examples which inspired me with ideas for next time.

by Muse Barbara (Isn’t she maaaarvelous!)

by Muse Carol (Wowy zowy!)

3 comments

    1. Dear Susan, Have you tryed useing one of those iPods which a have a painters program, they had them available at the De Young museum for the public to try, I made a self portrait , as we were encouraged to , and really enjoyed it.

      Like

      1. No, not at the De Young, but they have a self portrait center set up at the Oakland Museum and you draw with your finger on the tablet and it gets projected on the wall in a frame. Very cool. But I’ll check it out at the De Young next time I’m there for sure.

        Like

Leave a Reply

