techno-sketching

Used to be when you went to figure drawing class everybody would be lugging in the awkward clipboards and big pads of newsprint and bags of every kind of charcoal, ink, graphite, paint, brushes, nibs, pastels, etc.  Now some folks show up with an IPad and their fingers!  There were two such artists last night at the figure drawing group at Sebastopol Center for the Arts. I’m too in love with paper and the feel of charcoal smudging under my fingertips to try it.  Maybe for coffee shop sketches though!

2- 10 min. poses, charcoal pencil on paper, 24 X 18″

I arrived late and missed the quick warm up poses.  The ten minute poses tend to still be upright.  But by the 20 minute poses many models have chosen the prone position, and depending on where you are in the room, those poses can be very challening, soooooo. . .

20 min. sketch, charcoal on paper, 24 X 18″

. . .I elected a more interesting subject at one point. Truly there is not a better bunch of figure models than the people who sketch them. See the IPad in the center?!

4 comments

  1. I love sketching on a wacom tablet and ipad screen. I find it SO freeing. I don’t do it exclusively, but I am very comfortable with it., especially for travelling, when it can be hard to lug all the supplies you need for artmaking.
    I also write poetry on a computer. However, then I take what my digital stuff and translate it onto canvases, or handmade books, or paper quilts, first with collage, and that’s when things really get messy!

    I think I have the best of both worlds.

    As usual, your figure sketches just take my breath away. They are so expressive.

    Like

  2. Excellent goods from you, man. I’ve keep in mind your stuff
    previous to and you are simply extremely fantastic. I really like what you have obtaoned
    right here, really like what you are saying and the way inn which
    through which you say it. You aare maoing it enjoyable
    and you continue to carte for to stay it wise. I can not wait tto read far more from you.
    That is really a tremendous wweb site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

