The Layered Figure

gouache and pencil on newsprint collaged on a figure sketch

I went to Thursday Night Drawing Group armed with old drawings I’d collaged over, not because I’ve run out of paper, but because I find it more engaging to interact with an interesting surface than white paper.

The poor model was suffering from a migraine which seemed to keep working its way into my drawings.  It’s unavoidable that the state of the model gets absorbed by those who sit and observe.  I liked the connection of the puzzles and weather pages with a brain plagued by pain.  Maybe it’s the sometimes unwelcome complexity of life that seems to bring with it discomfort at the least and intense pain at its worst.

2 comments

  1. I sat for a bit with this up on my screen. It’s impels one to look, from the set of the jaw and mouth to the eyes especially, which register the intensity of the pain. Beautiful sketch against that ground, Susan.

    Like

Leave a Reply

