More Marathon Sketches

pencil, ink, gouache on gessoed BFK Rives paper, 11″X7″

Here I painted around the whites and glazed the background with diluted sepia ink. Actually it looks a bit like brown paper, so maybe I answered my own question about how to get that lovely mid value without using craft paper to start! This was a 10 minute sketch which I took a few more minutes to paint without looking at the figure.  That seems to work best for me at this point.  I have a need for personal invention.  This woman did not have a red dress or white hair, for instance.

dark wash pencil, sepia and sumi inks on gessoed Rives paper

Gessoed paper, meaning I paint a quick layer of gesso on the paper, let it dry and then paint on it.  Makes it much easier to move the ink around before it dries.

I think it was just a stroke of luck that the skirt looks transparent, like a belly dancer’s.  I had just enough time to go over part of the skirt with another coat of red.

You can see the brush texture from the quick application of gesso to the paper.  I guess I only had time for four toes!  The sumi ink with the red gouache was great for drama.  The face is nothing like the model’s, but who cares?

 

2 comments

  1. Howdy! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post
    reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this write-up to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

