The March of the Shrooms

Acrylic on Masa paper

The march of the shrooms, my favorite winter attraction.  Soldiers out of formation, an unruly bunch, which is why I love them so.  They  do not care if we praise their costumes or wrinkle our noses at their slimy spotted surface or talk about poisons and shudder, or pull out our cameras or ignore them altogether.

“We can grow where the rest can only die.  We enter at the death rattle of all flowering and leafing, and make a banquet of what is left, the whither and the rot and emerge where least expected, in ones, twos or twenties.  We are the signposts of composted soil, enjoying the gratitude of the gardener who knows our true worth.”

March, my little elves, my little fairy parasols! March to nature’s drummers.  I salute you!

6 comments

  1. I found your name in the back of a sketchbook I started and abandoned a while back. I have just found you blog and subsequently your videos. When I watched the video of the Nature Collage it brought tears to my eyes. It touched something deep inside me. Thank you for sharing your beautiful art. I am so sorry about your rooster.

    Like

  2. Magnificent goods from you, man. I’ve be mindful your
    stuff previous to and you are just extremely excellent.
    I actually like what you have got here, really like what you are
    stating and the best way in which you say it. You’re making it enjoyable and you still take
    care of to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you.

    This is actually a wonderful site.

    Like

Leave a Reply

