A Peony Moment

Inks, hand cut stamp, contact paper transfer

It’s been very hard to stay inside and “get work done” these last few days of spring.  So when I needed to work on my entry in a traveling muse journal, I took it outside to sit on my bench in the sun (see the video – right hand column – “Sketch the Spring Garden” to see the spot).  The theme of this journal, selected by Muse Judy, is poetry so I asked for a poem to happen.  Well, as I picked up my pen to start sketching the peony about to burst into bloom, plenty started to happen and that became the poem, as well as the painting.

A Peony Moment

Alone one spring afternoon

i sit with pen and peony my purpose

to capture an unfurling moment

but the garden’s creatures have other plans for me. . .

my ginger cat appears

insisting loudly on a neck scratching

a midnight blue butterfly floating

diaphanous among the red salvia

lures me under the apple tree

to find the first polka dotted caterpillars

while from behind the studio

emerge the three sorority sisters

in a clucking rush of friendly feather fluff. . .

cat in lap

hens at feet

butterlies at head

still waiting for that peony moment

. . .but now with friends.

And here’s Judy’s fun cover piece for this journal:

by Muse Judy

And if you want to come sketch chickens with me, check out the Barnyard Sketching workshop in May.  The May 22nd session has filled, so I’m opening up another session May 23rd.  By then maybe I will have trained those chickens and goats to stand still for us?

3 comments

  1. But not only limited for ordinary occasions since it can easily be used for special occasions as well.
    It expresses masculinity like no other perfume can.
    The scent of coffee alone is indeed refreshing- so why not
    save ourselves from the dangerous caffeine and simply spray ourselves with the scent of
    Starbucks.

    Like

  2. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few oof the imagtes aren’t loading correctly.

    I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

