Serafina

charcoal, 2 short poses

I tell myself I’m not just economizing on paper to put two poses, or sometimes 5 on a page.  Serafina is all wiry muscle in such a way that you can actually see the way it’s all connected up and as she breathes the muscles move under the skin!  Great for figure drawing.  Michaelangelo would have loved this model.  He wouldn’t have had to skulk around looking for corpses to draw.

conte crayon

20 min. sketch, conte crayon

sepia and black ink on HP w/c paper

I love this new ink I just got!  It’s Winsor and Newton Calligraphy Ink, sepia color.  It’s similar in color to the walnut ink, but so much more saturated.   (pardon the reflection off the darks – my photography set up is not ideal)

sepia and black ink on HP w/c paper

Serafina is quite an actress too.  If I were going to give this pose a title it would be “Weight of the World”.

6 comments

Leave a Reply

