the earth quakes us

acrylic, collage, gel pen, stamp

The latest in the Guardian Angel Figure series started earlier this month. . .mine was not the only one in the Muse Group which offered prayers and blessings for the victims of earthquakes and warming.  The world’s events, the suffering and triumph filters through all of us and onto the pages of our art. I find that often it appears without any planning on my part.  In fact I always try to start with pure playfulness.  A polar bear, a piece of a girl lying on a float in a pool playing a flute, an ancient statue of a god. . .what does it mean?  The conversation with this silly looking angel figure clarified. “Yes”, he/she said, “This earth IS a veil of tears.  We cry and we must also dance and continue to play.  It is what life demands.”

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to Twitter

2 comments

  1. Susan,
    I knew I was right to move your link to “Storytellers” on my blog; your stories come from the gods. Thank you for telling them so exquisitely.

    Like

  2. Susan,
    I knew I was right to move your link to, make that, “Storybooks” on my blog; your stories come from the gods. Thank you for telling them so exquisitely.

    Like

Leave a Reply

