Ordinary things

offeringupinks (with salt and plastic wrap), collage, acrylic and Sumi ink

Offering up the Word

She takes strength in ordinary things.

This piece began as a demo for the new session of the Tuesday Evening Muse group.  I like to start with colored inks, dropping them onto wet shapes and watching them explode.  It invites the pre-schooler in us to come out and create.

One of  the high school art students who came to open studios with their clipboards of questions asked me “How do you decide what to paint?”  My answer was that I paint my inner life, which is effected by the nature and birds and people I experience every day. Or something like that.  I’m a porous creature and whatever goes in circles around inside and comes back out in a day or week or more in my art.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

