Figure marathon

1bamg909charcoal on 18 X 24″ Strathmore Drawing paper

On Sunday I crowded into the Merritt College art building in Oakland along with about 50 (?) avid figure sketchers for the quarterly drawing marathon 10am-4:30pm.  I had brought my own easel that I could use sitting, which worked for a while, but I was too restless and it was too rickety so eventually I abandoned it and used my lap or a “pony”.

THe models were fabulous as always, and well worth the 1+ hour drive from my home!  Bill Jones, who’s been sketching the figure for many years in academic and other settings said they were the best models he’d seen.  The stages were set up in different length poses and the models circulated, with 2-4 on each stage simultaneously.  All of these sketches were done of 5-20 minute poses.  By the end of the day I was sketching so fast that the 20 minute poses seemed way too long and I ended up at the 1-2 minute poses.

2bamg909Yes!  This lovely model donned an antique wedding gown.

3bamg909walnut ink applied with pen nib and brush

I was seized with the need to go “wet” at this point. . .meaning inks and water and all.  But I forgot to change papers and the ink settled into the paper immediately.  No time to finish these 5-10 minute poses anyway.

4bamg909conte crayon

So, back to dry media.  I realized that I need a table to do the water media, and there’s no space for tables at this marathon.  I’ll try to remember that next time.

5bamg909Two 5-minute poses with the same model in black stockings.

The next figure marathon is scheduled for November 8 if you want to try it out.

Tomorrow. . .more sketches from the Marathon.

2 comments

  1. Oh Susan these sketches are fantastic!!! How I would love to do one of these marathosn myself! You are very lucky indeed! And look at the beauties you’ve created! I love them all! Can’t wait to see the rest!

    Like

Leave a Reply

