Good old Charlie Brown

2474557252_38e8bcf6e6Charlie Brown statue painted by me 3 years ago for RR Square, Santa Rosa, CA

Brings back memories.  Good ole Charlie Brown, the creation of our local hero Charles Schultz has been immortalized in more ways than you can imagine.  No fewer than 50 of these statues were painted by artists in a big airplane hangar that year.  Why am I showing it now?  Well, the little 5 ft. tall guy still stands there with his arm out on the street corner where he’s been for all these years now.  Innumerable pictures have been posed by his side with children and grandmothers alike.  I remember the crook in my neck and sore knees I got from the job, which took me 4 days! but also the satisfaction of watching people’s faces when they saw their familiar hero dressed up this way and big enough to relate to as a friend.  So please accept Charlie’s hand waving to you as a very personal and friendly greeting.

5 comments

  1. Yay! I LOVE this Susan! – and it’s so cool to be able to watch people ‘interact’ with your art on a daily basis. I didn’t realize the Peanuts genius was from your neck of the woods. Charlie just seems to brighten up the place doesn’t he?

    Like

    1. We have a Schultz museum, ink rink and airport here in Sonoma County, if you can believe it. And our streets are filled with statues like this one of Charlie, Woodstock and Snoopy, all dressed and decorated in different ways by local artists.

      Like

      1. You should have seen all the families that came out to the hangar to watch us paint them. And all had cameras. Lots of old people in wheel chairs and babies in buggies and backpacks. I had to pull my hat down over my face and plug in my earphones to get anything done. We used house paint so it would last outside in the elements.

        Like

Leave a Reply

