the shark and the dolphins

sharkacrylic, foil, collage on w/c paper

This was an actual dream, which I’m still hoping to have again so that I can finish it properly!  Here’s what I wrote after doing the art:

Diving and surfacing – the protectors swim under the surface, but deeper than the sharks.  I jump into the roiling waters, drawn by sheer desire, a boundless curiosity, but still I have my head above the water – curiosity not satisfied.  I count to three several times, but do not dive under. . . I awake without seeing the wild creatures face to face.  Dolphins or sharks?  The only sharks are in my mind.  I imagine the dolphins are about to teach me a wild sort of freedom, which brushes up against me solidly and wetly and feels like my own true animal skin.

And. . .my husband Bob has resussitated his art blog and is going strong.  Check it out.  He’s definitely the brains in the family and he knows how to talk about art process in a way we can all relate to immediately.  He just talked me into joining Facebook (like I have time for that too!)

10 comments

  1. What a beautiful image, and profound dream! Think I’ll take the dolphins over the sharks: do we get a choice? 🙂

    Btw, I added a new watercolor blog by Gretchen del Rio to my blog links. You might like her work–maybe check it out if you haven’t already…

    Like

  2. I don’t know that this needs any more finishing, Susan. I like the colors and the textures. Everything leads the eye to the detailed shark above. I think it’s a great illustration for the dream you described.

    Like

  3. Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I
    need some guidance from an established blog. Is it tough to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out
    pretty fast. I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not
    sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions?

    Many thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

