22
Mar
14

Tan Your Toes in the Abacos

bahamas8

Hope Town is known as the most picturesque town in the Bahamas and owes much of that fame to the candy cane lighthouse which not only keeps ships from wrecking on the dangerous “elbow” of Elbow Cay (pronounced kee) but makes it the most photographed spot in the country.  As a sketchbooker one is all but required to to render it at least once (I sketched it twice and would have gone for a third time if I’d had another week there).

bahamas7One is also required to try a rum drink, and our friends introduced us to the “Dark and Stormy Night” which I tried to duplicate tonight, but it just didn’t taste the same at home here in California.  The motto at the Abaco Inn, which was just across the little road from us, is “Tan Your Toes in the Abacos”.  We were so careful with the sunscreen that we took that figuratively, as in -release your toes from the confines of shoes and anoint them with that lovely white sand.

bahamas10

So imagine us down below this scene in the ocean snorkeling.  And I’m swimming along on the surface looking down through the crystal clear waters and trying to get accustomed to my leaky mask and bulky fins and seeing no fish.  And the suddenly I’m eyeball to eyeball with this rather enormous (4-6′ long) Moray eel with his eyes on me and his mouth wide open and body kinked up a bit like it’s spring loaded and about to, gulp, strike.  Well he didn’t, but it sure started my day off in an exciting way!

bahamas11

All the houses in this historic little village are sherbet colors and look good enough to eat.  It was my birthday so we went to find something good and sweet to eat (not the houses) to celebrate and arrived just in time at the Hope Town Coffee House for some excellent yums and sketching.

bahamas12

It was another windy day with a constant struggle to keep a hat on (to keep the sun off) and we finally all had the right hats to keep the sun off and not lose them every five minutes.  In the process though, riding around in a golf cart all day, we achieved “the windblown look”, captured here for good fun.

Coming up:  boats and more boats, rough seas and a midnight sail.

7 Responses to “Tan Your Toes in the Abacos”


  1. 2 SusanJane
    March 22, 2014 at 8:11 pm

    I haven’t posted anything in a while. Just wanted to let you know I’m still here enjoying your art, wit, and wisdom. Looks like a fabulous vacation!

  2. April 15, 2014 at 12:45 am

    First off I would like to say awesome blog!
    I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind.
    I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your head prior
    to writing. I’ve had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out.
    I do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes are usually lost just trying to figure out how
    to begin. Any ideas or hints? Appreciate it!

    • April 15, 2014 at 12:46 pm

      THanks! I think you’ve sort of answered your own question ;; First – do something to clear the mind – we always meditate for 5 minutes before doing art in my groups. Second – start writing without any preconceptions about accomplishing anything and see what jewels come in among the other words that just seem undirected. THird – try doing it in a group and the time pressure will help you to throw out that reluctance and just START!

  3. April 26, 2014 at 4:05 am

    There’s certainly a great deal to find out about this topic.
    I love all the points you have made.

  4. May 16, 2014 at 12:22 am

    Awesome things here. I am very glad to peer your article.
    Thank you so much and I am taking a look forward to touch you.
    Will you kindly drop me a mail?


Leave a Reply

In conversations with the Muse I mix paint with vision, collage with story, word with meditation and prayer. And out of the mixture comes a release of energy and healing and a lightening of the load of everyday living. You'll find most of it here, where I've been showing up for the past few years, along with collectible paintings, travel sketchbooks, figure studies and an invitation to join me in art play and discovery!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Website and Workshops

Check out my book!

The Art Journal As ...
By Susan Cornelis

Archives

All images and text are the original copyrighted work of Susan Cornelis unless otherwise attributed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

