10
Jun
13

A Mossy Nest Somewhere

owlpixiedust

black and white gesso, interference paints, collage on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

At home in the skies, you loose your wild pixie dust trails behind. I stand there to catch a whiff of those dusky, earthy  places where you have been, those places I miss at night when I snuggle instead into clean sheets, wishing the mattress were a mossy nest somewhere in moonlight, and you would visit me with soft furry treats. I would not blame you, but watch and listen in fascination as you crunched small bones and blinkered your wise owl eyes at me. 

Tomorrow night I will fall asleep in a tee pee, gazing up through the opening at the starry night and hope to see such an owl, at least in my dreams.  Off to Camp Winnarainbow, to be a kid again and dress in costumes and clown and dance and juggle and drum and tell stories around the campfire.  I’ll take some pictures to share, and perhaps sit still long enough to sketch a bit.  See you back here in a week!

1 Response to “A Mossy Nest Somewhere”


  1. June 11, 2013 at 7:22 am

    Enjoy yourself mightily. Both my children spent many years there. I have never had the courage to do the adult camp, you however, will not only enjoy it but be an inspiration to others.


Leave a Reply

In conversations with the Muse I mix paint with vision, collage with story, word with meditation and prayer. And out of the mixture comes a release of energy and healing and a lightening of the load of everyday living. You'll find most of it here, where I've been showing up for the past few years, along with collectible paintings, travel sketchbooks, figure studies and an invitation to join me in art play and discovery!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Check out my book!

The Art Journal As ...
By Susan Cornelis

My Website

Archives

figure
All images and text are the original copyrighted work of Susan Cornelis unless otherwise attributed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers

