06
Jun
13

Jazz Sketching

jazz1

Sharpee ultra fine pen, watercolor in Strathmore watercolor 5″ X 8″ sketchbook

The Healdsburg Jazz Festival started this week and Bob and I went to the Healdsburg Plaza on Tuesday evening for a free concert with the Roger Glenn Latin Jazz Ensemble.  The plaza was packed, so while Bob was wandering around with his camera, I scored a bench spot where I could listen, watch the dancers and be enthralled by the steady procession of humanity walking by.  I’d brought my sketchbook and, though I felt a bit rusty, got it out and sketched the few folks in front of me who were standing or sitting still. . .in between the people walking by.

jazz2Many people come in big friendly groups and stake out their territory with blankets and chairs, wine and  finger foods.  A rather large percentage of the people there were filming/taking pictures or texting/playing games on their phones.  The red hat guy was a thoroughly Latin dude who really knew the moves and had partner after partner dancing with him, all of them giggling and loving it.  (impossible to sketch!)

jazz3I’m not sure how this lady’s head got so wide, and those ears. . .!  Since you asked. . .I added the paint after I got home and while my feet were up and I was watching reruns of Foyle’s War.

It’s great to be sketching again.  There’s a perfect spot for my sketchbook and paints in my new yellow purse. . .

4 Responses to “Jazz Sketching”


  1. June 7, 2013 at 6:59 am

    Your sketches are always a delight, Susan.

  2. June 14, 2013 at 3:04 pm

    I LOVE seeing your sketches! The way you are able to capture the person in just a few lines, it’s something for me to shoot for. And, since I’m obsessed with color, any new additions to your paintbox?
    Sketch class coming up?

    • June 18, 2013 at 9:09 am

      Hey Cathy! Just got back from Camp. (see next post) Thanks for asking about sketch classes. For right now I’m teaching Muse Groups. Addition to my sketch kit? Yes, a new pen – Uni-ball Vision Elite – which I love because it works on wet paper and if you wet an ink sketch right after you do it, it bleeds beautifully. Try it!

  3. July 7, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    Heya! I realize this is somewhat off-topic but I had to ask.
    Does operating a well-established blog such as yours take a massive amount work?
    I am completely new to writing a blog however
    I do write in my journal everyday. I’d like to start a blog so I can easily share my experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any kind of recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Appreciate it!


Leave a Reply

In conversations with the Muse I mix paint with vision, collage with story, word with meditation and prayer. And out of the mixture comes a release of energy and healing and a lightening of the load of everyday living. You'll find most of it here, where I've been showing up for the past few years, along with collectible paintings, travel sketchbooks, figure studies and an invitation to join me in art play and discovery!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Website and Workshops

Check out my book!

The Art Journal As ...
By Susan Cornelis

Archives

All images and text are the original copyrighted work of Susan Cornelis unless otherwise attributed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 187 other followers

