02
Mar
13

Some New Image Transfers

darkfoldsofnightdecalcomanie, image transfer, inks and gesson on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

when beauty dwells
in the dark folds of night
Love comes and finds a heart
entangled in tresses
-Jalal ad-Din Rumi

Decalcomanie:  gesso that gets smooshed flat, then makes a pattern a lot like coral.

Image transfer:  two types; the figure of Aphrodite is a dry gel transfer and the Rumi poem is a clear contact paper transfer. Both transfers were added weeks after the initial inks and gesso play underpainting.  I always have a stack of starts ready to add to.  Aphrodite with her long tresses was a lucky find to pair with Rumi’s tresses!

youngmaninks, gesso, clear contact paper transfer, stamping, on w/c paper, 10 X 11″

Another fun beginning pulled from the stack and paired with Michaelangelo’s David.  I learned from a student, Ken,in my Muse Group that if you crumple the picture before laying it on the contact paper, you get a distressed look to the transfer – an authentic look for an ancient statue!  This young man is confronting the whirlwind of modern life.  Like my two sons, he’s so ready for it. . .and so not.

5 Responses to “Some New Image Transfers”


  1. March 3, 2013 at 9:14 am

    Wonderful, Susan! I especially like the top piece.

  2. March 21, 2013 at 7:09 am

    Have you thought about adding more video clips with the post?
    I appreciate an excellent post as much as the next guy or girl, but I am a visual type
    of guy and I enjoy being SHOWN rather then being told, you know what I mean?
    No biggie, just a suggestion. Great site by the way.

  3. May 21, 2013 at 12:06 pm

    Generally I do not read post on blogs, but I wish
    to say that this write-up very compelled me to take a look at and do so!
    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, quite nice post.

  4. June 4, 2013 at 6:59 am

    Marvelous, what a website it is! This web site provides useful information to us, keep it
    up.


Leave a Reply

In conversations with the Muse I mix paint with vision, collage with story, word with meditation and prayer. And out of the mixture comes a release of energy and healing and a lightening of the load of everyday living. You'll find most of it here, where I've been showing up for the past few years, along with collectible paintings, travel sketchbooks, figure studies and an invitation to join me in art play and discovery!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Website and Workshops

Check out my book!

The Art Journal As ...
By Susan Cornelis

Archives

All images and text are the original copyrighted work of Susan Cornelis unless otherwise attributed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 188 other followers

