05
Feb
13

3 X Paint to Music

celticharp

(Celtic Harp) acrylic inks, gesso, lace texture on 12X 12″ canvas

No brushes!  Just ink droppers, fingers, a roller, and a bit of lace to “stamp” texture on.  Not intended as a finished painting, though maybe it is.  An opportunity to let music express itself with paint.  The music for this one was Celtic Harp, tripping as lightly as ripples on an otherwise serene sea.  Bright and spritely.

tribalbeat(Zhoom, Gabrielle Roth and the Mirrors) powdered graphite, inks, phone book collage on 12X12″ canvas

Tribal beat!  The kind you’ve got to MOVE to.  And no wishy washy flowy move, but the kind with some edges in it, with some tell-it-like-it-is in it.  Maybe even with some F-words in it. Raw, like phone book pages, discarded but reclaimed.

That messy powdered graphite sprinkled on in the beginning, invading the white surface. Fingers again as painting tools, and fingernails.  And one last flourish of black ink with a loaded Sumi brush.

Now close  your eyes to clear the screen and open them again for the next.

yoyoma(Yo Yo Ma’s romantic music) acrylics and gesso, pencil and image transfer on 12X12″ canvas

Cello.  Is there anything in the realm of music, except maybe violin, that plays those heart strings more lavishly?

A page of quick line sketched I’d done at the last Figure Drawing Marathon in Oakland, copied, then transferred with gel medium onto the under painting.  There’s some despair in this garden of the nymphs.  Always the pairs of opposites existing side by side in life.

9 Responses to “3 X Paint to Music”


  1. February 5, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    Many different moods captured here – love them! =D

  2. February 5, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    Love that last one, Susan.

  3. February 8, 2013 at 5:27 am

    Love the energy of the top one! And I love the softness of colors and curves, and the mysterious in the bottom one!

  4. May 16, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    What’s up, after reading this awesome paragraph i am too glad to share my knowledge here with friends.

  5. May 22, 2013 at 4:49 am

    Generally I do not learn article on blogs, however I wish to say that this write-up very forced me
    to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me.
    Thanks, quite great post.

  6. June 10, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Hello outstanding blog! Does running a blog like this take a lot
    of work? I have absolutely no knowledge of computer programming but I was hoping to start my own
    blog in the near future. Anyway, should you have any ideas or
    tips for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off
    subject but I simply wanted to ask. Many thanks!

  7. June 12, 2013 at 6:55 am

    Good day I am so delighted I found your site, I
    really found you by mistake, while I was looking on Bing for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to
    say thanks a lot for a marvelous post and a all round exciting blog (I also love
    the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment but I have book-marked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.

  8. August 29, 2013 at 9:45 am

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this
    write-up and also the rest of the website is very good.

  9. January 1, 2014 at 2:12 am

    Heya this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with HTML.
    I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding knowledge so I wanted to
    get guidance from someone with experience. Any help would be greatly appreciated!


Leave a Reply

In conversations with the Muse I mix paint with vision, collage with story, word with meditation and prayer. And out of the mixture comes a release of energy and healing and a lightening of the load of everyday living. You'll find most of it here, where I've been showing up for the past few years, along with collectible paintings, travel sketchbooks, figure studies and an invitation to join me in art play and discovery!

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

My Website and Workshops

Check out my book!

The Art Journal As ...
By Susan Cornelis

Archives

All images and text are the original copyrighted work of Susan Cornelis unless otherwise attributed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers

